Harriet Beecher Stowe Freedom Writer Award and Lecture

The Harriet Beecher Stowe Lecture & Award.  Lecture by award-recipient whose work best exemplifies “writing to change the world.”

The Stowe Lecture is in June of each year, as close as possible to Harriet Beecher Stowe’s birthdate, June 14. It is named for Stowe, who lectured at The Mercantile Library in 1873.

2003: Joan Hedrick, HBS biographer
2004: Gail Collins, NYT editorial
2005: Linda Lear, Rachel Carson biographer
2006: Dorothy Rabinowitz, WSJ columnist
2007: Samantha Power, A Problem From Hell (genocide)
2008: Cynthia Tucker, Atlanta Journal-Constitution columnist
2009: George Packer, New Yorker, Assassin’s Gate (Iraq)
2010: David Simon: The Wire, The Corner, Homicide: Life on the Streets
2011: Jennifer Thompson, Judicial reform, Innocence Project
2012: Chris Abani: Nigerian poet, imprisoned as teenager for his writing
2013: Robert D. Bullard: Environmental Justice
2014: Jose Antonio Vargas: Immigration Reform, The Dream Act
2015: Michelle Alexander: The New Jim Crow
2016: Claudia Rankine: Citizen, An American Lyric

2017: Wesley Lowery, author of They Can’t Kill Us All 

2018: Colson Whitehead, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Underground Railroad, Wednesday, June 13



The 2016 Harriet Beecher Stowe Freedom Writer Award was given to poet and author Claudia Rankine. She is the author of the award-winning The New York Times bestseller Citizen: An American Lyric. 


Video production by Alias Imaging: The Official Visual Storytellers of The Mercantile Library