The Niehoff Lecture

Niehoff XXX: Zadie Smith

The Niehoff Lectures at the Mercantile Library were established in 1986 at the suggestion of library benefactors Mr. and Mrs. H. C. Buck Niehoff. Their desire to strengthen the Library’s role as Cincinnati’s premier forum for men and women of letters has been realized and is evidenced by our distinguished roster of Niehoff Lecturers. The Niehoff Lecture, (the Library’s only annual fundraiser), is presented to an audience of 400 or more at a black-tie dinner in autumn. The Niehoff Lectures raise funds for the Library’s operations as a collecting institution and literary center.

The Niehoff XXX Lecturer is Zadie Smith, the multi-award-winning author of Swing Time, NWWhite Teeth and On Beauty. Tickets available HERE.

Saturday, November 4, 2017
7 p.m.
Presidential Ballroom
Westin Hotel
21 East Fifth Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
Individual tickets are $175 per person for Library Members and $200 per person for non-members. Available HERE



First Edition sponsor tables are also available
For more information, email Amy Hunter, Literary Programs and Marketing Manager: or call 513-621-0717


Niehoff Lecturers:

I Jonathan Winters, II William F. Buckley, Jr., III George Plimpton, IV Tom Wolfe, V John Updike, VI Margaret Truman, VII David Halberstam, VIII Ray Bradbury, IX Elmore Leonard, X Pat Conroy, XI William Styron, XII Julia Child, XIII Robert Pinsky, XIV Joyce Carol Oates, XV Jonathan Winters, XVI Arthur Schlesinger, Jr., XVII Christopher Buckley, XVIII Salman Rushdie, XIX Annie Proulx, XX Calvin Trillin, XXI David Baldacci, XXII A.S. Byatt, XXIII Bill Bryson, XXIV Scott Turow, XXV Seamus Heaney, XXVI Robert A. Caro,  XXVII Ann Patchett,   XXVIII David Brooks XXIX Doris Kearns Goodwin